Bob Farley/f8Photo -Children's Hospital

Smallest Patients Benefit from Shelby Golf Classic

In golf, a long drive is a good thing. But when it comes to needing the services provided by a neonatal intensive care unit (NICU), a long drive to the hospital is the last thing somebody wants.

Shelby Baptist Medical Center keeps those services close to home, and the driving to a minimum, with the only NICU between downtown Birmingham and Montgomery. And for the fifth consecutive year, the Shelby Baptist Medical Center Golf Classic helped raise funds for that unit.

Ninety-eight golfers competed in this year’s tournament, which was held April 13 at Ballantrae Golf Club in Pelham. The event raised over $35,000, bringing the five-year total to more than $150,000. The money is used to purchase new equipment for the hospital’s NICU.

In addition to raising money and enjoying an afternoon of golf, participants in the tournament were able to learn more about the Shelby Baptist NICU and the important role it plays in providing women and infant care for central Alabama.

“It is important to have events like this because it raises awareness in a large group of people,” says David Wilson, president of Shelby Baptist. “We brought in several new players and sponsors this year, which is really exciting. It enables them to learn more about our mission at Shelby Baptist and the Baptist Health System. It’s always great to have people come out and hear a little bit more about your cause.”

Robins & Morton was once again the title sponsor of the tournament. Thanks also to our other generous sponsors: Maynard Cooper & Gale, Johnson Development, TRO Jung|Brannen, Sherlock Smith & Adams, Crothall Laundry Services, Lemak Sports Medicine & Orthopedics and Hospital Housekeeping Systems. A special thank you as well to Shelby Baptist physicians Dr. Mark Scofield and Dr. Malcolm Simmons for serving as this year’s tournament chairmen.

Congratulations to this year’s winners:

1st Place
Dr. Michael Lathem
Dr. Malcolm Simmons
Dr. Michael Patterson

2nd Place
Richard McGill
William McGill
Jay Evers
Matt Hyde

3rd Place
Dr. John Wilbanks
Gerald Adams
Mike Perry
David McCarty


Source: BHS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *